Korean BBQ Beef and Rice

First off, Happy New Year! Hope you all had a great start to 2015! I am slightly chuckling at the fact that my first food post is not something sweet because that is pretty much what I do the most. Because my husband won’t allow me to make cupcakes and cheesecakes for every meal, I actually have to cook something that we can realistically eat for dinner. The recipes that I love the most are simple, minimal ingredients, quick, and most importantly, delicious! I seem to find most of my recipes on Pinterest and usually try it out and will tweak it to my liking. I got the original recipe from this website and changed a few things to our liking! My husband is a pretty picky eater and this is by far one of his favorites! From start to finish it should only take you about 20 minutes!

image5

Korean Beef

  • 1lb lean ground beef (you can also use ground turkey if you’d like! I am using turkey in this post which is why my meat is a little lighter than beef)
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup soy sauce (we use low sodium)
  • 2 tablespoons sesame oil (I like to use the hot chili sesame oil)
  • 3 cloves minced garlic
  • a little bit more than 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2-1 teaspoon crushed red peppers (depends on how spicy you like it)
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 2 bunches of green onions
  • rice (we like to use brown)

image1

Before you cook the meat, make sure you start the rice so they can both finish around the same time. In a heated pan, brown the meat with 1 tablespoon of oil and garlic.

image2

Someone got a whiff of the meat!

image3

Drain the fat and add the soy sauce, brown sugar, crushed red peppers, ground ginger, 1 tablespoon sesame oil, and salt and pepper. Sometimes if I have extra, I will add a little bit more garlic only because I LOVE garlic! Stir and let simmer for a little until the sauce seems to thicken a little and soak into the meat.

image4

Chop up your green onions while your meat is simmering. We like ours diced about two inches wide. Once you think it’s simmered enough, put the onions in, stir, and cover with lid until the onions are cooked. It should only take a few minutes.

image5

Serve over your rice, mix it all up, and enjoy!

image6

Caught someone going back for seconds!

Hope you all enjoy it as much as we do! It has become a staple in our house!

Leave a Reply

