Crockpot Zuppa Toscana

So the past week here in New Jersey has been ridiculously cold. Like -15 degrees cold. Yuck. Funny enough the number one person that hates it the most is the dog. Poor Frank can’t go outside for more than a minute without shivering even with layers on. We even put him in a spiffy hat! He is clearly unamused.

image1 (2)

The crockpot has to be my most favorite thing ever during the colder months. Since I am one for easy cooking, the crockpot has to be the easiest thing. You throw a bunch of stuff in the pot, put on the lid, turn it on, and come back to a fully cooked delicious meal. What’s better than that? This soup is so warm, hearty, and delicious making it absolutely perfect for this cold and frigid day. Apparently it is supposed to taste like the Zuppa Toscana from Olive Garden. I’ve never actually had it there so I can’t compare it for you. The original recipe is from here but I had changed a tiny bit to our liking.

Crockpot Zuppa Toscana

  • 1 lb hot Italian sausage
  • 3 potatoes
  • 3 heaping handfuls of chopped kale
  • 5 1/2 cups of chicken broth
  • 2 cups of heavy cream
  • 1 teaspoon of crushed red peppers
  • salt and pepper

(set on HIGH for 4 hours)

image1

First, cook your sausage

image2

Wash and slice your potatoes and cut them in half. Wash and chop your kale. I like to buy the pre-washed and pre-cut kale in a bag. Put your cream, chicken stock, potatoes, kale, crushed red pepper, salt, and pepper into the crockpot. Just for fun: this is what New Jersey would look like if it was a potato!

image3

When your sausage is done, chop it up and place into the pot. For fun, I like to add a little bit of the sausage grease to add a little more flavor. If you don’t have crockpot liners, you are totally missing out. They have to be the smartest thing ever invented. It saves you the trouble of having to actually scrub and wash the pot when you are done with it. Totally worth the money! (If you haven’t caught on by now, I like convenience!) Once everything is in, stir it all up, put the lid on, and set on high for 4 hours.

image4

Fast forward 4 hours and you have this ridiculously delicious soup!

image5

………15 minutes later. Two empty bowls = two happy stomachs!

image6

This recipe makes A LOT of soup which is great because it also freezes well. In total, it has about 8 servings so I like to save a little in the fridge for the next few days and freeze some for down the road. It’s only been about an hour since dinner and it has already put Mike into a nap. I could be really mean and snap a picture to post on here but I don’t think he’d be too happy about it. Haha! I guess I’ll call dinner a success then! I hope you all will enjoy this as much as we did. Now excuse me while I go join my husband for a post dinner nap! Stay warm out there folks!

2 thoughts on “Crockpot Zuppa Toscana

Leave a Reply

